My First Subie - Page 2 - LegacyGT.org
LegacyGT.org     subaru gift, subaru calendar

 

Go Back   LegacyGT.org > Legacy Owner's Lounge > Members' Journals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-31-2011, 09:05 PM   #21
kagenmateer
Senior Member
 
kagenmateer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1,277
Default

To clarify my post; Valvoline synthetic.
__________________
kagenmateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-06-2011, 03:42 AM   #22
dellguy3700
Member
 
dellguy3700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 38
Default

Well i am happy to say I have my car back. I really really missed it! Thanks for the oil and filter info. Now what about brake pads and rotors, OEM replacements good enough for an every day driver that most likely wont see a track?

According to my insurance company I have a GT limited. I read somewhere that I GT have Plaid seats, GT Limited have solid colors Mine are black. My calipers are red. Is that stock?

Last edited by dellguy3700; 11-06-2011 at 04:56 PM.
dellguy3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 08:13 AM   #23
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

'05 GT Limited has all leather seats, Momo steering wheel, Momo shift knob. There should be no plaid. Red calipers are not stock, the previous owner must have painted them or replaced them with brembos.

Stock rotors and pads are fine for everyday driving. If would to step up for a little better performing pad, most members run Hawks HPS pads with stock rotors.
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-07-2011, 05:22 PM   #24
john
Senior Member
 
john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,150
Send a message via AIM to john
Default

^^ I'm using Hawk HPS pads up front on stock rotors and they work quite well. IE, I can stop fast.


Plaid seats? Please post pics.
__________________
Look passive, be aggressive. Scare them.

‹^› ‹(•¿•)› ‹^›
john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 07:16 PM   #25
dellguy3700
Member
 
dellguy3700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 38
Default

I am sorry for the confusion . I have all leather seats, not plaid. I read somewhere about plaid seats on GT. I am not sure where. I think the previous owner must have painted the stock calipers. My nephew said brembo would have been machined/cast into the caliper.
dellguy3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 09:18 PM   #26
kagenmateer
Senior Member
 
kagenmateer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1,277
Default

I thought the limited was clothe seats with no sunroof? Or am I backwards and that's the non-limited. So because I have leather, I'm limited? It's been a while since I had this discussion.
__________________
kagenmateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 08:17 AM   #27
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default




The limited GT comes stock with all leather, Momo steering wheel & knob, and the sunroof. If you have Momo, you have the limited ('05 - '06). There is also some accent chrome trim on the exterior of the car, mostly right below the door stills on the running boards (rocker panel).

The GT had the optional cloth (can't remember if it's a soild color or cross pattern) or leather seats. Everything else was an option, such as sunroof, sport package, etc....
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2011, 07:54 PM   #28
kagenmateer
Senior Member
 
kagenmateer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 1,277
Default

Got it. Thx for the reminder!
__________________
kagenmateer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2011, 08:44 AM   #29
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 05:49 PM   #30
SubieChik
LXRY STI
 
SubieChik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,539
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dookie
My brand of choice is Shell Rotella t6 5w40 - for the test results and price.
Filter - Pur 1
Intervals - every 6,000 miles or 6 months, whichever comes first. It's my way of staying up on regular maintainance.
Rotella

I change every 3k though
SubieChik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:05 AM   #31
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

^^ You're changing your oil way to often. A member on .com had their oil analyzed from Blackstone labs using Rotella T6. The oil tested had roughly 5000 miles, and after the results, Blackstone stated he could have gone another 1000 miles on his current oil before it started to break down. Just a FYI.
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 09:40 AM   #32
SubieChik
LXRY STI
 
SubieChik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,539
Default

I'm overcautious after blowing an engine from unknown causes. If I didn't drive that much I wouldn't care, but I drive short distances and turn my car on off on off I don't mind....my husband changes it when he changes his...lol.
SubieChik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 10:14 AM   #33
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

Thank God for husbands, huh?
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:03 AM   #34
SubieChik
LXRY STI
 
SubieChik's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,539
Default

lol....I could do it myself but he likes to do it so I'm not complaining
SubieChik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:52 AM   #35
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

I do the same for my woman.
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 12:19 PM   #36
dellguy3700
Member
 
dellguy3700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 38
Default

Hi everybody! Well I have had me car a year now and still love it. I 've been good on changing the oil and Soon I'll be replacing my brakes. New pads all the way around, hopefully the rotors can be cut.

I have had a problem with my dual climate zones, everything on the right blows cold air. I did some research and came up with that I needed to flush out my cooling system. So I did that and because I decieded I love this car I should get the Subaru antifreeze and that additive I read about. My first instincts was that the cold side wouldn't be fixed by a flush and fill. I found enough evidence to support the claim and it couldn't hurt. Well low and behold it did not fix the issue. So for now you can call me a hillbilly as I have duct tape over the passenger vents, with that I can get the car warm enough for my 5 year old to ride in it.

I am open to suggestions on the lack of heat issue on the passenger side.

PS when I say I am open I mean I hope to get suggestions
dellguy3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 01:44 PM   #37
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

If the driver side is getting hot air, and air is still blowing out the passenger side, it sounds like the hot/cold activator for the passenger side is broken. The pain is tearing apart the glove box and stereo console to get to. The blower is located behind the glove box, I would start from there and follow the ducting to the hot/cold activator.


Other possibilities, bad relay or the passenger side climate control when out.
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:24 PM   #38
dellguy3700
Member
 
dellguy3700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 38
Default

Thanks Dookie!!!!

I can do a lot of stuff but that seems like a pain in the rear....
dellguy3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 06:29 PM   #39
Dookie
;-0
 
Dookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fresno - The arm pit of CA
Posts: 5,045
Default

No Prob.

The only pain about it is, it's under the dash and it's a tight fit to get to everything. It's not one of my favorite things to do.
Dookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 10:27 AM   #40
dellguy3700
Member
 
dellguy3700's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Cleveland
Posts: 38
Default

Oy Vey. My local dealer want 532. for a HVAC Control Modual,
dellguy3700 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:33 PM.



Subaru and Legacy are trademarks of Fuji Heavy Industries and are used here for identification purposes o­nly. The comments and content are property of their posters.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Designed & Powered by Domain Architect